The Middle

My daughter doesn’t know, but I saw her.  The theater was dark and her action was brief.  Diary of a Wimpy Kid 2- Rodrick Rules was onscreen. The main character, Greg, is a middle child. He gets picked on by a cruel older brother and favored less than an attention starved younger brother. Greg spoke about the resistance his parents gave him to his emotions . My daughter shook her head in agreement,  pulled her long legs to her little chin, and stared intently. The movie spoke to and about her, 7 year old Lyla/Bug,  the middle one of three sisters.

*blogger’s note* – This is my answer to @velvetverbosity ‘s 100 word challenge from http://www.velvetverbosity.com the one word prompt is RESISTANCE. This is a true story of last Saturday’s trip to the discount movie theater. I learned  alot about my daughter that day. Being a middle is harder than it seems.

Today’s song was the easiest one I’ve ever posted.  There’s a self reliance/do your own thing message behind Jimmy Eat World’s song . Singer/songwriter Jim Adkins is a middle child so I’m sure there’s some angst.  Here’s Jimmy Eat World’s The Middle.