Starseed

After a two month absence, the story returns. Last time on Crazy Robot Stories:  http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/07/drive/

“He”ll come for us. “

When Lucas Bonner spoke, he was colder than the November North Dakota wind.

“Caleb, Breann, Bruce, and I; Connor Bulas owns us. Bruce wants to go home. I told his family I would deliver him, dead or alive. So, we need to drive now.”

I looked at Breann and Gavin, who had been outside surveying the compound for over two hours. Gavin pointed at a large silo in the middle of the land, about 300 yards away.

“There’s security everywhere but that silo. It’s a drive thru type. If we can make it there, close the doors, we can buy a few minutes head start to the highway.”

Breann grabbed my hand. Her small fingers were like icicles. She leaned into my left ear. Her soft, white skin made me jumo because of it’s startling coldness.

“I think we should split up. Put you and I with Gavin and stick Lucas and Bruce with Ava. Gavin all business and Ava might rethink making you her robot lover for life after spending time with those two freaks.”

Ava stared at Breann’s lips as she whispered to me. Gavin put everyone’s belongings into the back of his gray Ford Expedition. Ava stepped toward me and motioned me to join her inside the SUV. She acted like Ava always did and took over the moment.

“We have no time to talk. Everyone get in Gavin’s car and let’s get to that grainhouse silo. Once we get there and get those doors closed we’ll rethink the plan.”

Breann and Ava glared at each other. I was getting sick of their rivalry. Gavin and Lucas were making the most sense. I climbed into the front with Gavin. The other four piled, uncomfortably, in the back seat. As Gavin started the car, several men armed with stun guns and radio head seats ran from the building. Gavin pushed the gas pedal down Ava leaned into the front seat.

“Caleb, Gavin and I have a contact in Minot. They won’t send for us. We have to go to them. If we can make it to the Air Force base by dark, we can get all four of you medical attention. That will gain  get leverage on Doctors Anson Cluber and Connor Bulas.” 

She rubbed her long, slender fingers against my face, feeling for fever and affection. I pulled away. Ava shook her head and rolled her eyes.  
 
A siren went off above the auditorium we were in previously. Several men armed with stun guns and radio head seats ran from the building. Gavin jumped in the driver’s seat. Ava went to the passenger side. Lucas and Bruce stoically sat next to each other on the left side of the back seat.  Suddenly a shot went off around the car. Ava screamed. Gavin drove erratically and yelled.
 
“Holy shit, they shot at us.”
 
I didn;t see guns and as I put the window down, I heard the flat tires on the rear of the car. We had hit rumble strips or something and blown two of the four.
 
“Keep driving Gavin! You have enough tread to make the silo.”
 
I didn’t really know that but two black SUVs were now driving toward us. Lucas and Bruce were silent. Breann looked scared but smiled. As we made the door of the silo, I turned around and pointed at Lucas and Bruce.
 
“There’s four of us, not two!Help Breann and I get through this! We’ll take care of the Lena and Clare, but for Chrissakes, you’re still part human! You can care for more than each other!”
 
Lucas didn’t respond right away. Breann looked at me and mouthed “I love you.” I smiled and repeated it to her. Ava grit her teeth and looked away.
 
Gavin screeched the tires on the car and slid within feet of the grain elevator. Bruce opened the right rear door. H he and Lucas got out. Lucas methodically walked over to an electrical panel. He punched the metal casing and ripped the door away as if it were tinfoil. Lucas touched a red button and pulled a yellow wire. A sliding door moved from right to left and shut with crushing force. The security guard vehicles stopped. I fell from the car as my foot became caught in the door. Pellets that felt as hard as bullets indented my skin and I cried out on pain. Bruce helped me up.
 
“Are you hurt?”
 
I didn’t answer because of the pain and the shock of hearing Bruce deep, monotone voice. Breann stood next to me and spoke to Lucas.
 
“What are these? They’re like hard seeds?”
 
Lucas pulled the back of the car up with his left hand. He motioned for Bruce to do the same on the other side of the car. Lucas stared at me.
 
“Can you change one of the damaged tires, Caleb? We should be able to travel a few miles that way.”
 
I jumped underneath the back of the car. Breann helped me retrieve the jack and the spare tire. Ava emerged and looked at Lucas accusingly.
 
“You know what those seeds are don’t you, Lucas Bonner? It’s what makes the fusion cells inside the hearts, right?”
 
Lucas motioned everyone but Breann and I into the elevator, and they rose a floor. After a few minutes, different seeds, some energized and warm, dropped on the ground near Breann’s feet and my head. Then Ava shouted.
 
“Oh my God!
 
Ava and Gavin ran to the edge of the railing.
 
“No wonder the doctors were so mysterious about how to implant your hearts. It’s a new energy source and it’s amazing!
 
*****blogger’s note****
After a two month break, the Robots story is back! You can find it in full, so far here: http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/crazy-robot-stories/
 
 
 
Today’s song is one I’ve wanted to play for a while. Our Lady Peace made some good records over the past 15 years. This is a terrific song and it fits the story. Here’s Starseed…play it loud.