How Soon Is Now?

I notice what I don’t see. One daughter’s karate, no fathers. Another daughter’s school event, few fathers. My oldest daughter’s cheerleading competition with hundreds of parents in attendance, and you can count the fathers on one hand.

I’m not better than anyone. I am there. Where are the others? Don’t they know that’s how strippers are made?

The children know when you aren’t involved. The girls forget nothing. Work is important but nothing exceeds your kids’ happiness.

“It’s just one thing”.

That’s the lie some tell to feel satisfied as a parent. How Soon is Now? Now is when they need you.

*****blogger’s note****

This is my response to velvet’s 100 word challenge http://www.velvetverbosity.com The One word prompt is SATISFIED.

Today’s song is one of my favorites. It’s a way to interpret the post. Laziness, lack of attentiveness, avoidance, it’s all an excuse. The Smiths once asked How Soon Is Now? to explain their feelings about politics, relationships and life. I use it to ask about fatherhood.

Here’s one of the greatest guitar riffs of all time….