Ready to Go


Millicent Stingley prepared her perp walk like a supermodel did for a runway. She spent almost two hours picking out something to wear. She settled on her lucky blue Chanel dress that accentuated curves. Tall, hippy and busty, Millicent knew what men saw when they looked at her and a 160 IQ didn’t show in this outfit. One carat diamond earrings that she’d bought for her birthday completed the presentation.

Her attorney Reeve Mattox, her chemist friend John Clemenson, and a bodyguard named Gunny waited in her living room. She smiled in the bathroom mirror and opened the door.

***blogger’s note***

I’m writing a four thousand word short story titled Cinnamon Girl and entering it in a writing contest in December. This is the story’s first (edited) 100 words.  I inserted Velvet Verbosity’s 100 word Challenge prompt of “Lucky” so I could participate http://www.velvetverbosity.com/2011/11/23/100-words-and-the-sap-runneth-over/ this week.

Today’s song is from Republica. I know this has become a stable for people workout mixtape and some sporting events but for about 5 minutes I liked it as a real song. It kind of sets an arrogant mood, and Millicent is an arrogant mood. Here’s Ready to Go…

10 responses to “Ready to Go

  1. Wow! I wouldn’t have pegged Millicent as one who could be so indecisive as to take two hours to pick out an outfit! I thought I knew her pretty well, but now I think there’s some insecurity I hadn’t noticed before… and maybe more vanity than I expected. Interesting!

  2. Good luck on the contest mister. Since you’re trying to go for the big time can I offer one little correction? I think in the first like it should say, “prepared FOR her perp walk”.

    Let us know if we can read the full version somewhere, it looks like it’s going to be interesting. :)

Whatdya Got?

