Karma Police

Standard

To whom it may concern,

The smell of coconut suntan lotion turns my stomach. Nobody will look me in the eye. I’m tired of crying every day. Since you all don’t have the courage, I’ll apologize to myself.

Sincerely,

me

****blogger’s note***

This is my letter of apology, as dictated by this weekend’s Trifextra- http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/ For this week’s challenge, you have to write a letter of apology in exactly 33 words. Addresses, salutations, closings, etc. (should you wish to include them) do not count in the 33 words. You can call this a a vague entry. But it means the world to me. No, I won’t elaborate.

Today’s song is perfect, in so many ways. If Radiohead were in charge of my funeral, this is what they’d open with. I hope the right people are reading and listening. Karma’s a real thing. And it’s a major bitch.

 

 

53 thoughts on “Karma Police

  1. fricking computer ate my first comment.

    i’m sorry. i wish i could take away the suntan lotion association/memory/whatever for you.

    i can’t put my finger on it, but reading this makes me ache for you and makes me feel anxious (not that I’m not always anxious as it is, but you feel me, right?).

    p.s. i am really excited to have you guest post next week, but if you have too much on your plate let me know? don’t wanna overload you….

    happy weekend and hugs,
    erin

  2. One step at a time, is what this post says to me.

    One little crack in the door can feel as big as a dam bursting.

    I’m glad you posted. There is no way around life, there is only through it.

    And the association you have with the coconut oil, I understand.

    To this day, as old as I am, I can’t listen to my husband pull the belt out of his pant’s loops without getting shivers.

    Still.

  3. I can’t exactly describe what that does. It stirs memories, it makes me curious, it makes me know better than to ask, it makes me want to console, it makes me think.

  4. Lance, I wish I could give you a big hug and take you out for coffee. Apologizing to yourself is the saddest kind of apology… Now, about Radiohead… I’m too old for this! Although my nephew did turn me on to Rage Against the Machine when I was 50. And I never cared much for Journey or any of those 80s screechy-tenor bands. Show offs. Give me the lyrics to read first, then get up on stage and scream and wiggle what your mama gave ya. Love your soul. Amy

    • I don;t drink coffee but a beer or a hot chocolate or some tea and we’d talk all night. Rage Against The Machine is great. Radiohead is my second favorite band of all time. Rage is probably my 9th favorite.

      thank you, Amy

  5. Powerful words here Lance, unmistakably deep. The song was an excellent bridge between the spoken and unspoken trail of words clustered at the edge of your soul.

    Now I have to go write another apology letter… you masculine muse.

    P.S. Journey is awesome ;-)

  6. Okay…so we give hugs, high fives, drink to karma…and wait for the show. I love knowing revenge is sweet and having no blood on my hands. Patience is not a virtue I have, but I do know it can pay off. Don’t Stop Believing Word Weaver (sorry, couldn’t resist) and remember the superpower ink in your pen ;) (Okay…I admit it, dying for details but respecting the write)

  7. It’s amazing to me how much scent plays such a visceral part of our memory. I hope that you can forgive yourself. An apology is a first step. Very vulnerable and honest apology.

  8. TheKirCorner

    do you know I wear coconut lotion every single day..I love smelling like summer, even in the winter.

    so this was hard for me to read, because I don’t want you to have to apologize for anything, esp Karma. I am a true believer, like an advocate of KARMA and paying it forward and for being able to forgive.

    as always your words just kick me in the gut, I love that.

Whatdya Got?

