Every Day Is Exactly The Same


Pencil to screen and back again
Each day, every night, I translate the voices
Post about them, about me where my mind’s been
The days I stop, I regret my choices

Prompts, ideas and ways to reveal
I leap at the chance to show more
Call it addiction, it seems like a wheel
That never stops turning, my mind’s at war

I think what I’m trying in this peculiar way
Is as long as I keep writing, I’ll own my name
I’m the maker of the music i wish to play Every day is something, it just always seems the same.

****blogger’s note****

This is a a little something different for two prompts. Trifecta Writing wanted a poem in 333 words, 3 lines or 3 stanzas. http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/ The Lighting and The Lightning Bug wanted me to speed write for ten minutes. I originally wrote this a few weeks ago, hated it, then rewrote it over ten minutes. http://thewriteandthewrongword.blogspot.com/2012/05/flicker-of-inspiration-52-speed-writing.html This will eventually be turned into a Helene troy song.

read to be read at yeahwrite.me

Today’s song is about my anxiety disorder. Don’t interpret the lyrics literally. But Trent Reznor’s captures mental illness well,in this song, Here’s Nine Inch Nails Every Day Is Exactly The Same.

70 responses to “Every Day Is Exactly The Same

  1. it really is an apt description! though i don’t think i ever go to the place of “every day’s the same.” so long as i’m writing, different things come up every day, and that makes for a lot of change. very nice post, lance. sing it!

  2. Isn’t that Einstein’s definition of insane?

    “Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

    But, even though you write every day, it’s never the same, ever evolving, ever improving.

  3. I really liked how TR went back to his first songs with these lyrics (was hoping he would have dusted off the old equipment too for the crunchier sound)

    Glad you didn’t give up on the work.

  4. I love that you didn’t totally trash the poem – came back and re-wrote it. I once was told that a poem is never finished, it is simply abandoned. I have a lot of abandoned work. I’m thinking you and Helene do as well.

  5. “Poetry heals the wounds inflicted by reason.”
    ― Novalis

    When your heart wraps around the words with complete abandon, there is a freedom to be found that is unlike any other I have known. Music, mixed with madness shares the likeness of poetry, in that it heals by familiarity.

    • wow, what a comment.

      I’m not very good at poetry. I write songs, you know, rough hewn rock songs, and of course, fiction. Thanks for not judging me harshly. You’re a fantastic poet.

  6. Lance…you pulled me out of hiding when this came up on my phone….hate you? Hell NO! Poetry, to me, is basically bleeding words. It’s what I write when fiction won’t do, when the time has come to strip the BS, and expose my truth. Everyone is a poet, few find the courage to show it…glad you did…as your name (which from the little bit I know, you have no trouble owning) has grown even stronger. I loved it. Bottom line.

  7. Lance, you perfectly summed up my feelings today. I’m struggling with a few things right now and finding the time to write (i.e. maintain what little sanity that remains) has fallen deeply into the cracks. Thanks for helping me get my head straight and know I’m not alone here. :)

  8. “Is as long as I keep writing, I’ll own my name”….that reached out and grabbed me as well.

    Something I needed to read after dealing with a long-lost relative who came out of the darkness and voiced his opinion regarding my writing.

    I write it, I own it and it’s my name above all else.

    Great post…thank you!

  9. Well written and I like the sentiment. I’d rather the sameness of creating something new every day, than the sameness of a job where little changes.
    eden

  10. Great Poem, and thanks for peaking my interest in The Lightning and The Lightning Bug from our challenge over at Trifecta!

  11. Thank you so much for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. The challenge this weekend will be judged by the community. So please come back to the Trifecta home page and click the stars next to the three posts you most enjoyed. You only have until Monday at 8 am EST, so hurry!

  12. I know what you mean. The days blur together, some failing to feel any different than the last, and you wonder where you’re going, what you’re doing, and how you’ll get there, since you don’t seem to be going anywhere.

  13. I do get that the process feels the same, but I always come here, never knowing how I’m going to be move, touched or entertained. You have variety and range and it is a pleasure to read your writing. Ellen

  14. I hear you, but I would add to that daily repetition, the making of lunches, the emptying of the dishwasher, the doing of laundry and the looking up at the sky and saying “when will this end???!!”

  15. I just recently became very comfortable with the voices in my head and stopped trying to make them stop or be quiet. I don’t consider myself a good writer at all but practice, prompts, patience are teaching me that maybe the things I have to say are valuable. This poem sounds like where I’d love to be in a year….with my heart and mind keeping time with the keyboard.

    As always your words struck the right chord.

  16. I just love your recycling of work, Lance. Plus, the conquering of two prompts with one piece? Brilliant.

    Why have I not done that yet?

    Stupidity, Michele. Stupidity.

  17. “As long as I keep writing, I’ll own my name.”

    BAM.

    Exactly.

    The things we do to own ourselves. Torture, obsession, insanity, narcissism, mania- digging relentlessly to find our pearl in the oysters the bury us in the shithole of our imagination…. it’s a dance…..

Whatdya Got?

