Golden Slumbers

Standard

One of the reasons I’d make a great robot is I dislike sleep. I woke at 8:30am today, three hours past my normal time, angry. A chunk of my day was gone and I wouldn’t be able to get it back.

I live with people who love sleep. These four women, my wife and three daughters, worship their slumber. Since being dead to the world for eight-plus hours is important to them, I watch their rest. They don’t know this, but I admire their dream time by singing The Beatles’ Golden Slumbers and counting the ways I love them.

****blogger’s note***

This is my personal response to my friend Velvet’s 100 words for the word “SLUMBER” at http://www.velvetverbosity.com/ 

Today’s song is obvious. I used to sing this to my now 8-year-old daughter when she was a baby. Now, all of my women get this Beatles lullaby. Here’s Golden Slumbers from The Abbey Road album. Take it away, Paul.

43 thoughts on “Golden Slumbers

  1. debseeman

    I too love love sleep. Just wish it loved me. I’m sure your sweet ladies sleep easy in their slumber knowing you are awake and vigilant.

  2. TheKirCorner

    I like naps. Does that count?
    I am that person on vacation that is up at 6am, having breakfast at 7 and at the pool by 7:30, at 1pm when everyone else is ready to splash and interrupt my book time, I go and take a nap/hang out until 4ish when everyone goes to get ready for dinner.

    it’s been like that since I was little, I feel like (even on the weekends or vaca) that if I sleep past 6am (remember I get up at 4:45 every day anyway) it’s a waste of a day.

    so I get this. But it’s nice that you watch them sleep, that’s a good man. :)

    • yeah, im the same. I know when we go to Disney I’ll be up with my middle daughter at 7am or earlier hitting breakfast and applying sunscreen to her. i worked in morning radio for years and it just ruined me…then of course, the whole part robot thing.

  3. That’s one of my “go-to” songs at lullaby time for the kids — I start with that “sleep pretty darling, do not cry / and I will sing a lullaby,” before breaking into “Good Night.”

    After that, I just kind of make up the lullaby routine.

    As far as sleep — I’m someone who hates that he loves it. I actually get really, really angry with myself when I sleep in, because there’s so much of the day that I just can’t get back . . . but, well, it feels so good when I do sleep in. I basically make the rule that my kids dictate my sleep. If they wake me, I’m good and going. If they sleep in, well, I’ll sleep in.

    So far, the mornings where I curse myself for not getting more done are few & far between.

    • yeah, I usually forget the second verse so I ttend to hum or make something up.

      I get more done before 8am, usually, than most people do all day.

  4. “Come sweet slumber, enshroud me in thy purple cloak.” (Bonus points if you know where that’s from)
    I love mornings in my house – me and the kids are up at 6 and within an hour, they are gone. My wife loves sleep, and stays in bed late – which means hours and hours of quiet time to write.
    Nice 100, Lance and a great song too!

    • The Art of Noise ripped it off from some poem. I’m a moderate fan, but the musicologist in me remembers it from college.

      thank you eric

  5. Aww!!! This is sweet. I love the Beatles.

    I love sleep, can’t get enough of it really. But I deprive myself of sleep to stay up late and get stuff done. I’m a masochist. I also have next to no executive functioning today because of a week’s worth of sleep debt.

  6. You should read my slut snore metaphor. And if you’re in for a really bizarre read, you can slog through my post about thanatophobia. Yeah. We’re both floating aimlessly in that strange land between sleep and ohmyfuckinggodjustkillmenow…ville…

  7. Like you, I wake up way too early in the morning. But, unlike you I don’t take advantage of the quiet hours to get any work done. I probably should tap into my inner robot, and not waste the time.

  8. I did the same thing. I am very much a morning person, usually get up around 5ish if not earlier, and today I slept until 7:40!! I feel robbed!

  9. I love sleep too. I used to be a night owl, pushing out stories in the wee hours of the night, but these days I am lucky to make it past 1 am. *sigh*

    • yeah, i need to tone down the sweetness. its ruining my rep. sleep is dumb. i went to bed early last night and missed you guys cavorting with the Bloggess

Whatdya Got?

