Ride


Last time with Helene Troy: http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/rebel-girl/

The manager ran to the door of the loft and threw his back against it, preventing Mara from leaving. None of the three women would look at each other. Mara turned away from the manager, cursing.

“Girls, This high school drama shit’s gotta stop. I have neither the time nor the patience for it. In each of your hands is $750 and a reminder of the contract you signed with me to open for The Golden Apples for three more shows. With last night’s buzz, I’ll make it ten shows and we’ll work out the details of me managing the band after that.”

Helene stepped to Sadie, clasped right hands and whispered.

“Sade, I love you. Ride this out with me. We can do this together.”

Before Sadie could respond, Mara walked to within a few inches of the manager’s face.

“There is no band. Go rep that bitch. Put her in rubber dresses, get her an MTV reality show, I don’t care, just get out of my fucking way!”

Running his small hands through his sweaty, thin black hair, he opened the door. Mara left angry, her heavy boots stamping down the concrete stairs.

Sadie mouthed “come on Leney”. They caught up with Mara in the alley next to the Soho loft. Helene leaned against the graffiti-covered brick wall while Mara lit a cigarette. Sadie crossed her arms, raised her tiny ginger eyebrows and nodded her head for Helene to speak.

“The manager can’t hear us, Mara. Say whatever you want and I’ll deal with it..”

Mara took a long drag on her Marlboro light and exhaled the smoke through her flared nostrils.

“You don’t want the band and Matador Records doesn’t want the band. So, I’ll play the Apples shows then I’m joining Superfluous Force.”

Helene shook her head in disgust at Mara playing with their rival.

“Fine and fuck you, Mara.”

She pulled her hair into a ponytail, grabbed Sadie’s hand and walked the two of them back inside.

****blogger’s note****

This is a new story episode of my novel work in progress, The Ballad of Helene Troy. You can find the rest of the story, so far, here: http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/the-ballad-of-helene-troy/ It is also a 333 word response to Trifecta Writing’s “Alley” prompt http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/ 

Today’s song more for the rockin’ aspect than lyrical. The Vines’ Ride fits Helene and Sadie here, plus, it was playing in my car earlier. Here’s The Vines, turn it up, loud.

23 responses to “Ride

  1. A beginning disguised as an ending? I can hear the old (black and white weekly version) of the Batman announcer saying something like “Will Mara really move away from Helene?… Tune in next week to find out, same RobotBlog, same Robot channel.”

    The intensity of the situation is portrayed in grand fashion in this one Lance, each movement seems to be accentuated, and though we may have had an idea that Mara was moving in this direction, it still came across as a moment of irritation, progression, passion, and movement that felt unexpected.

  2. ANGST. Sometimes I like it a little too much and we as women do fight like this, we never just walk away, there is always something to say, a feeling to impart, a FUCK you to throw out.

    My favorite parts were the descriptions of the mgr, of how the girls leaned and lit cigarettes and said what was on their minds. You captured the in between that each of them is in, how being 2nd (best or otherwise) feels and why Mara lashed out.

    In the end it’s Leney’s story and so I care about her more than Mara, but I know how it feels to be 2nd, to be the one behind the person that really counts (All of have felt that right?) and it stings.

    great piece, my friend. I love this story….I really really do.

  3. Somehow I am not surprised that Mara teamed up with the rivals. After all, that little dribble you gave in one of the earlier pieces, about her messing with the manager of that band, spoke volumes

  4. Thanks for linking up with Trifecta this week. I love how you write about female angst. And I liked the flared nostrils. Like a bull. Perfect. :-) Hope to see you back again soon, Lance.

  5. Pingback: Monkey Wrench « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Whatdya Got?

