100 Word Song – Swing Life Away

Standard

When I started 100 word song it was in large part,  to replace the huge void left by my friend Velvet, who hiatused her 100 word challenge – www.velvetverbosity.com. I love the drabble or 100 word format. It’s tight writing, immediate inspiration, and you see amazing writing from people that challenge themselves and me. Lately, whether from the summer heat or people having those things caleld lives, 100 wordsong has stayed steady at about 6 to 9 players. I took to the book of faces and asked for some new blood. Last week’s choice from http://www.nottherockefellers.blogspot.com/  Rene aka @JustRene on the twitter and Rene Foran on the facebooks laid down I Cut Like A Buffalo. Great choice from a fantastic writer. But instead of asking  for someone who’d picked before, I found Dawn aka @HappinessCubed http://www.happinesscubed.net/ . She’s from Canada. She has cool wedding pictures in the snow. And she writes really friggin good. She gave me a list of twelve songs, None of them sucked. Leeroy liked Swing Life Away by Rise Against because it’s fun to play on acoustic guitar.

For my 100 we revisit Jake. You know someone has to see him in the hospital before he can go home and be under the thumbs of Vi and Gus.

Last time: http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/100-word-song-i-cut-like-a-buffalo/

The medication was wearing off. Jake was more sick of feeling sluggish than sore. The knives of hurt his broken ribs wielded were formidable, but he toughened.

Wearing tight jeans and a white v-neck t-shirt, Mallory walked into the room holding a small flower pot affixed with daisies. Her smile competed with the glow of evening streetlight through open blinds. She stood next to his bed, holding her right index finger to glossy pink lips, then whispered.

“I talked to Violet and Augusta. I’ll convince them you need me. Read the card inside the flowers. We’ll work us, around them.”

My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Anything you need to know about 100 word song is here:   http://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/100-word-song/

You have 7 days to write 100 words inspired by Dawn’s pick, Rise Against’s Swing Life Away. So, GO….

30 thoughts on “100 Word Song – Swing Life Away

  1. Oh Danged it all to heck, that manipulative, little hussy with ass huggin’ jeans and a bright smile is still hanging on to Jake. I wonder what I can come up with to encourage her demise waggles her eyebones and then her pen… grinZ most maliciously Jake might want her to stick around, but there’s got to be another woman who looks just as good in those jeans, I just have to find her… and FAST!

  2. Lance – there is this band with members from Alaska – I’ll leave it up to you to decide if any of their music might appeal to LeeRoy. Hubbymoose and I were friends with Steve Holt’s parents long long ago (they moved away awhile back). I knew him when . . . actually BEFORE when. :) I’ll leave the youtube address below: 36 Crazyfists – and, yeah, not really MY kind of music for a steady listen, but they are well loved by some of my younger friends – and my daughters as well. (they grew up together)

  3. Creepy and low on her part! She is one of those characters I love because she is so dislikable. I look forward to seeing what happens to her – I hope she gets what she deserves.

  4. dberonilla

    I just wanted to say thanks for the opportunity to play, Lance!
    I’m having a great time reading what everyone has come up with, and can’t help but feel just a tad intimidated. You keep some great company!

    As for your submission, I obviously loved it. It made me want to go and read the entire story between these two. And once my children co-operate, I will. :-)

Whatdya Got?

