Dopes To Infinity


Bridging the two foot difference between hotel bed and nightstand, he pushed his hand though a stack of one, ten, and twenty-dollar bills. He turned the nightstand alarm clock around to see the display was blank. The only light in the room was morning orange, so he assumed it was daybreak. He spun away from the brunette inches from him and placed his bare feet on the cool beige carpet. He looked for clothes but could only locate his g-string. Walking naked to the window, stepped on his jeans that covered a room service menu for the Omni Hotel. Details from the previous hours began running side-by-side with light-headedness produced by an alcohol and ecstasy hangover. Before he opened the curtains, he slipped on the jeans and heard her yell.

“Oh my god!”

He’d heard her say those words before, but in a different tone. Her bedsheet imprinted face belied a beauty that seduced him earlier. She pulled random strands of medium-length brown hair behind her ears and stood, taking the thin bed sheet and covering her body.

“I can’t believe I took home the stripper.”

He turned around. Not wanting to feel the indignity of what she’d say next, the morning glow of sunrise revealed a different world than the one he and his embarrassed companion had fallen debauched to, a few hours before. Her voice carried over his sculpted shoulders.

“I mean dancer. Exotic dancer. You work at a nice place. Mermaids and Unicorns is like an A-List strip club. Damn it, I did it again. Look, I’m so sorry, um, you said your name was Cody, but that can’t be true. Not Cody, I’ve never done this before. Okay, well, I haven’t done this in about nine or ten years. I have a boyfriend.”

He ignored her intoxicated rambling and watched the city he’d called home all his life tranformed into fire, rubble, and chaos. The bumps of her body against the bed, and end table stopped. Her hand rubbed the middle of his bare back. She saw it all, too.

“What happened? On my god, Phillips Arena is torched! What are those?”

Her questions floated. Atlanta was burning and creatures flew through the air. Long-winged serpent-faced monsters shot fire from their beaks. One flew toward their hotel room window. It’s eyes grew more yellow and black as it approached.

“Close the curtain Not Cody!”

They pulled each other away from the glass and fell to the floor. Her sheet dropped away and he covered her body with his. Flame ripped through the room, missing their legs by inches. Their screams were muffled by the intense screech of the beast. A thunderous echo rolled across the room.  Tears and sweat from each of them mixed together and her face slid down his chest. He shook his head.

“We can do that later, you know, when we’re not about to die! Let’s find some clothes and get out of here.”

He left her on the floor and searched for things for them to wear. Something hit him in the back. He turned to see her seething in a naked fury.

“I wasn’t trying do that with you, you arrogant ass!”

He slipped on the shirt she tossed then handed her a bra, panties, and dress.

“I’m sorry. And my name is Noah.”

****blogger’s note****

This is a special fun Fridat fiction piece for my friend @braintomahawk. He asked me to play a word association game. My challenges were to use 1) male exotic dancer 2) unicorn 3) atlanta hotel at sunrise and 4) humantity is wiped out and fantasy creatures roamed the world. My genre was fantasy. My word count was 555. http://braintomahawk.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/what-we-have-re-sorted-to-doing/ 

If ya’ll like this, I’ll figure out how to expand it. We need a new serial asap.

Today’s song is something I’ve wanted to use for ages. It’s dark, loud, and it rocks. Here’s Monster Magnet’s Dopes To Infinity. Have a rockin’ Friday.

10 responses to “Dopes To Infinity

    • yeah…i struggled with that one, then my daughter was watching that Mermaids show H20 and it hit me…name the scrip club mermaids and unicorns. thanks dude

  1. I like the premise of this. So many possibilities you could take it. I’d be interested to see you try your hand at fantasy :)

    The opening paragraphs are a little stilted. Too many sentences beginning “He {enter action here}.” A little editing and reworking of the phrases and it could be stronger.

    Hmmm…another female character with brown hair…ever thought of trying a blonde? ;)

  2. I am absolutely impressed by your ability to sensualize such a dire and violent situation. I really am. It’s that kind of writing that takes people by surprise and makes them pay attention. Drinks all ’round, man. That was great.

  3. I like the premise of this story, but it feels like we need more setting before we jump into bed with Noah and the brunette. I would love to see more of it (would love to get my hands on it for a little while hehehhe). I will be watching this one Lance.

Whatdya Got?

