Handwritten


There was nothing to write that didn’t include describe a bosom. I walked, shuffled, to be honest, to my bedroom and saw the red notebook next to the dog and a bundled blanket. Leaning over to grab the spiraled diary, I felt the friction of an ample belly against my waistband after too much chinese food. Gross vanity disgusted me.

“I hate feeling old.”

Making my way back to the living room where the safety net of her, sat a few feet away, I opened the notebook.

On the third page was a story I didn’t think was worthy to transfer from paper to screen. Handwritten in number two pencil, with notes in the margin, was an idea that made me smile. The night before, in the midst of madness, I’d written without fear.

I unbuttoned my jeans, smiled at the middle-of-the-night creative bent, and started turning it into art.

****blogger’s note****

I had nothing for Trifecta Writing’s “ample” until I chowed on chicken lo mein, went into my bedroom, and flipped open my notebook. This is a true, personal, anxiety-related story. http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/

Today’s song is probably my favorite one out right now. Gaslight Anthem’s new album, Handwritten, is excellent. Get it. This is the title track and it works for this. Crank it.

23 responses to “Handwritten

  1. Those idle of the night writing sessions usually end up being some of our finest work. I’m sitting here as I read this thinking about this weird dream I’ve been having (one of those repeat ones that progresses further each time) hoping to see the end soon so I can put it to paper. I really like this, Lance,

  2. I love when you’re stuck and real life slaps you upside the head with the inspiration you’ve been totally blind to. The details you put in this scene are perfect to show what’s going on here.

  3. The best stuff is what flies into my head. Almost any idea I have that comes from thinking about what I’m going to write is no good. I’m glad you articulated this.

  4. I related, very much, to unbuttoning those restrictive jeans and yielding to the middle-of-the-night anythings but especially if they are creative…all the better. Welcome to middle age, Dude! And, handwriting at all feels really good, to me!

  5. “in the midst of madness, I’d written without fear.”

    You said what many think… you responded to the tug of the buttons on your jeans, and the words inside your heart. Thank you!

  6. I love those moments. The times that make you smile and feel your creativity wiggling around in your toes. The gems you find from scattered paper from some forgotten fearless night. That lucid moment when you step outside yourself and see The Writer finding gold. Yep. They are my favorite.

Whatdya Got?

