Kill Your Television


White noise of distractions

symphonize with the shackled thoughts of

The internal prison wander in and out

is ignored by those who see it as normal

The clamor pains hurts my head

the writing during my capture soothes

The times I spend outside, searching

negates the antidote

The days I try to fight, on my own

without prescribed warriors

Are met with violent judgement

and crushing defeat

To be listened, not just heard

is the flag to be planted, most days

But the Army of Needful Want

is always stronger, reinforced

I never blame their agents

I always fault the Want

If I could be licensed to kill

I’d slay Laziness and Apathy

Even those I love and may love me

are made blind with Distraction

The symphony is incredible

it is a mean ruckus

In simpler times I recall being told

“turn off your Television”

Even when it was not turned on

Artificial light is the scourge of now

I lay victim to their evil sparkles

venturing outside the cell is sobering

It always reduces me to despair

There are enough ideas in prison to entertain

there are few outside of it to matter

If I could be licensed to murder

I’d kill my Television

and take out yours too.

****blogger’s note****

This is a personal poem responding to Trifecta’s Challenge of “blind”. I used the third definition - “drunk”. I didn’t make the 333 word limit because I don’t have to. http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/

Today’s song is one of my all-time favorite. I was a “Ned” many years ago. Enjoy the two bass players, energetic drums and the song’s double meaning. Here’s Ned’s Atomic Dustbin with Kill Your Television.

30 responses to “Kill Your Television

  1. Yay, Ned’s! Cool poem too, I really like the hectic, chaotic feeling I get while reading it. Kinda felt like I was on the Scrambler. That sort of, oooh I feel sick but in a good way? Hard to explain. Thanks for sharing!

  2. and……. HE POEMS! Love, love, love! “mean ruckus” ?? “prescribed warriors” ?? Army of Needful Want!! Evil Sparkles!! It’s just too much! It’s like a wordgasm!

  3. I’m reading about a cacophony of intrusions (no point in my trying to describe what you so eloquently did in your writing). It is a such a vivid accounting; I can almost hear the noise. Even though I don’t regularly experience anything like this, I can relate to feeling a confluence of discordant stimuli during stressful or emotionally difficult situations.

  4. This: “symphonize with the shackled thoughts of

    The internal prison wander …”

    It has the rhythm of James Joyce or the tide. I love the way the tenses elide into each other, and ideas crash one to the next. This could be drunk, or it could be the cage of mental illness, whose confines can also be strengthened by that horrible white noise demon.

    I’m not sure what tense ‘lay’ is meant to be in above. If ‘lay victim’ is an active thing, like ‘lay waste’, then you’re golden. If it’s more like stretching out all-of-us-are-in-the-gutter-some-of-us-are-looking-at-the-stars style, then it’s ‘lie’ you want.

  5. I love “the Army of Needful Want.” Your phrasing and rhythm do a great job of conveying the emotion behind the words – it’s like another layer of poetry on top of the poem. It sounds like nighttime scribblings in the dark (in a good way!), which, if I understand correctly, is what you started with. Fantastic.

  6. I read this several times last night, and returned to read it several more today. It displays the chaotic pace of anxiety, and the mounted heaviness of too much, too fast. When I feel anxiety everything becomes amplified, sound, sight, smell, touch… it’s all in my face. I feel that in this piece Lance, nice job of writing your way through the feeling.

Whatdya Got?

