Higher Ground

Standard

I stood on the roof of One Liberty Plaza looking out over Manhattan with co-workers when silence swept over us heavier than the February morning snow. The body language of eight middle-aged men screamed. The glass and steel structure reaching into the sky begged a question. When is a building not just a building? When it’s this one.

oneworldtradefreedomtower

That’s the new One World Trade Center aka the Freedom Tower. The dark portion of the building on its right is scaffolding, in place for the completion of its final construction, scheduled to be completed by late summer, 2014. The fog and cloudiness of another snowy day in the city takes away a bit from its beauty but standing there looking at it was breathtaking. After the initial awe, I became sad. I remembered the pretty fall day twelve and a half years earlier when there were two Trade Towers until something evil took them down. But that wasn’t the main source of my melancholy. It was the fact that I, like millions of other Americans, have taken for granted what that horrible day meant, and what this new tower truly represents.

There’s no need to be political, here. I have another website for that, www.leftypop.com, @lefty_pop on the Twitter. Maybe I’ll do some ranting about how we lose our way from time to time, there. But for now, I wanted to show you what made my morning in the city so special, giving me the kick in the butt I know I needed.

After we left the roof of One Liberty Plaza to disperse for lunch and the rest of our day, I walked New York City’s slushy streets, looking back at the new Freedom Tower. While I know I’ll never forget what happened a dozen plus years ago, I need to appreciate the great movement forward in building a new tower and what it represents for all Americans.

You can’t keep us down, no matter how much of a funk we get ourselves into.

*****blogger’s note****

This is for www.trifectawritingchallenge.com ‘s 333 word challenge this week around the 3rd definition of “funk” FUNK
(noun)

1 a :  a state of paralyzing fear
b :  a depressed state of mind
2 :  one that funks :  COWARD
3 :  SLUMP
<an economic funk>  <the team went into a funk>

Today’s song is one of the best “funk” songs ever and it’s message is something we all need to abide. Here’s Stevie’s Wonder’s Higher Ground. Be better to each other, jerks.

I wrote a couple of books. They got good reviews. A third one is on the way, next month.

The Ballad of Helene Troy, an underdog story about a female musician in New York City, and Soul To Body, about an ex-1990s guitar player trying to raise his teenage daughter after the death of his wife, her mother, are available, digitally, on Amazon.com for your kindles, and in paperback from Lulu.com

bookcoverpicajjhkasfpaperbackpicturesad

15 thoughts on “Higher Ground

  1. Natalie DeYoung

    I saw it during construction in 2012, and I teared up. I was surprised at how much it meant to me, the most cynical of cynics. Was it really twelve years ago? I remember it so clearly…

  2. KymmInBarcelona

    Great piece, Lance, and I love where ‘funk’ took you.
    I like hearing about ground zero. Somehow to me it’s still a big hole that I think about a lot, whenever things like Kiev happen (a lot). Nice to hear it’s taking a different shape.

Whatdya Got?

