Walk

Standard

I’m learning to walk again. The leg soreness feels amazing. For two weeks, I’ve been hoofing it while working in New York City, accumulating over a dozen miles discovering delicious Chinese food in Jamaica Queens, mouth-watering pizza in the Bronx and a scrumptious diner burger in Brooklyn.

Where I live, in suburban Atlanta, no one walks unless it’s on a gym treadmill. I think I’ve been missing something as a result. Being out of my car, I smell the city, hear the bustle, and absorb the culture. While I miss the sweet tea philosophy of Georgia, I’m appreciating New York’s walk.

******blogger’s note*****

I’m working a project in New York City for the next few weeks. I’ve been several times, as a tourist and working. But it had been several years since I’d been here, 2007, I think. This piece is for my buddy velvet from www.velvetverbosity.com and her “Tea” prompt.

Today’s song is from Foo Fighters. Let it rip…and walk it off.

I wrote two books. They got good reviews. The third one, a sequel to the first, Woman Of Troy, is on the way, next month.

The Ballad of Helene Troy, an underdog story about a female musician in New York City, and Soul To Body, about an ex-1990s guitar player trying to raise his teenage daughter after the death of his wife, her mother, are available, digitally, on Amazon.com for your kindles, and in paperback from Lulu.com

bookcoverpicajjhkasfpaperbackpicturesad

15 thoughts on “Walk

  1. Great track. Foo Fighters are in a class by themselves these days.

    I’m not a big fan of NYC but I am a fan of walking in the city. Best way to experience it imo. Hope you’re enjoying your time there.

  2. Oh very very cool. I love that you’re hiking around the city. It’s funny how things are different when you have a crowded transportation system and clogged roadways. “Forget it and walk” suddenly becomes a wiser option.

  3. The food sounds delicious, but I was recently diagnosed with diabetes, so I’m having to be pretty careful with what I eat. One thing’s for sure, rice is out. It drives my blood sugar way up. Which doesn’t leave out other items of Chinese food, but rice is a no-go.

  4. There is nothing quite like walking the streets of New York, discovering new sights and smells around every corner (some good, some decidedly questionable) and getting lost in it all. I once walked from midtown to Battery Park and back on a Saturday, getting home at dark. Now, as you know, I’m in Jersey, where cars rule and yesterday I got sore because I got off my ass and vacuumed. lol

  5. I’ve never been to New York. I’m not sure how the crowds would affect me, but I’d like to see it at least once. Phoenix isn’t a walking city, either, with the urban sprawl going on. The smaller town we live in now is better for biking (or riding an ATV) than walking.

Whatdya Got?

