Street Fighting Man

Standard

News of the day irks

Some seem to fight for backward

I fight for forward

****blogger’s note****

In the past few days Arizona passed a pro-discrimination law http://www.msnbc.com/msnbc/arizona-passes-law-allowing-discrimination , a guy was acquitted of murder in Florida after firing on a car of four black teenagers killing one http://www.cnn.com/2014/02/20/justice/florida-loud-music-case/ , and my home state,

galicenseplate

Georgia, is adding the Confederate flag to car license plates http://www.leftypop.com/2014/02/21/conferate-flag-pride-prejudice/ . For the haiku prompt http://louceel.blogspot.com/p/haiku-friday-rules.html sponsored by Lou and Tara, I chose this angle.

haiku friday

Here’s The Stones.

I wrote two books. They got good reviews. The third one, a sequel to the first, Woman Of Troy, is on the way, next month.

The Ballad of Helene Troy, an underdog story about a female musician in New York City, and Soul To Body, about an ex-1990s guitar player trying to raise his teenage daughter after the death of his wife, her mother, are available, digitally, on Amazon.com for your kindles, and in paperback from Lulu.com

bookcoverpicajjhkasfpaperbackpicturesad

11 thoughts on “Street Fighting Man

  1. Ever since President Obama was elected, the Conservatives have gotten to be more vociferous, intransigent, and (In my opinion) stupid. I see what’s happening now through a filter of Dismay.

  2. Oh GOD the confederate flag. I’m so sick to death of that damned thing. (Keep in mind – Montgomery’s city seal, to appease all parties proclaims boldly that we are the cradle of the confederacy AND the home of the civil rights movement, as if those are BOTH good things, and as if one didn’t directly lead up to the other, and NOT in a positive way.)

    Florida disgusts me, sometimes. The racism is so bad in some places.

    I’ll be interested to see the fates of the new laws, though, given the Federal judge’s recent ruling in Utah.

  3. Wow, the Confederate flag? (Eyebrows raised).

    Then again, I probably shouldn’t comment… I live in Arizona.

    (I do such an awesome job avoiding the news, I didn’t even know such a bill existed til I read about it here! I read the article you linked to – here is still a chance the governor could veto it, though…)

Whatdya Got?

