Float On

Standard

If you pay attention to your children, they’ll teach you things you thought you already knew or that you forgot a long time ago. My 9-year-old daughter started her second ever season of softball this past week. Watching her fierce blonde pony-tail scoop up grounders at third base on a field ravaged by unseasonable melted snow and ice, I understood why I love baseball (and its off-shoot, softball) so much. And it has nothing to do with multi-million dollar contracts and steroids.

carlysoftballssss

My relationship with baseball  has mirrored mine with women. Like my first marriage, my affair with baseball went through a divorce, after the major league baseball’s players’ strike/lockout of 1994. But like my second chance at love a few years ago, I found my way back to baseball.

My youngest daughter’s interest in softball thrills me. I played baseball from the age of 5 to 15 in Little League and high school. I covered baseball as a journalist in college and a few years in my twenties. Being a writer, my romance with the game is similar to the men who’ve written about it for over a century. I love the smell of spring grass, the crack of wooden bats, the spray of Georgia clay off the cleats of sliding players and the hope each season symbolizes, professionally and recreationally. It makes me happy and hopeful, two things I rarely am, when my little girl crouches down in the batter’s box waiting for a pitch.

carlysoftbalslslslsd

When I get angry because a pro player I think should’ve gone in the Hall of Fame, doesn’t, or some rule change irks me, or my hometown Atlanta Braves don’t make the World Series, yet again, or one of them leaves for more money, I look around my house for my daughter’s glove, ball, bat, cleats, and orange stirrup socks. The real reason why love the game is inside her enthusiasm. She has her third practice tonight. Until she holds out for an extra million bucks a year, I’ll appreciate the sport in all the right ways and use that hope to float on.

carlysoftballplayer

8 thoughts on “Float On

  1. I love this post so much. Well, I’m annoyed because you actually HAVE spring there right now while we’re headed for more single digit temps for at least the next two weeks, but whatever. I love this, as I’m sure you know I would. ;)

  2. This is great! I’m not a soccer fan, per se, but when my younger son threw his heart into it in the fall, I loved it because he did. So I get what’s at the root of your love of baseball/softball. Have fun! (That’s what it should be about anyway.)

  3. I’ve never “got” baseball until I had a friend who was a college softball coach. It is much more exciting when you have a vested interest in the game. I got to know her players and saw the passion they all had.

Whatdya Got?

