Mad Season


Here it comes. The metaphorical hurricane of emotion, stress, responsibility, birthdays, planning, money, girl scouts, judo,  football, baseball, cheerfreakinleading, and a new project at work.

I turn 41 in about a week. It means nothing to you, because it doesn’t mean anything to anyone else, including me. I have one child that celebrated her 8th year of life last weekend, I have a another child, the sweet blond baby girl, Carly Shane aka “The Goose” droppin 7 years down two days after me, on the 12th. My oldest daughter’s cheerleading has started, in earnest, as of yesterday. Lanier High JV took one on the chin 38-3 but Tay and her cheer partners were perfect.

Tay did it all with a sprained ankle. I did it all with a  full scale anxiety attack last night that kept me in knots until midnight. Welcome back, crazy. This month is going to be hard, so I will have to be more robot than ever.

I will begin traveling more for work next week. That puts pressure on my wife to handle the girls and their emerging activities. Goose starts girl scouts in two weeks while Bug continues beating people senseless at judo.

I honestly doesn’t know how we will get through the fall season, or as I’ve renamed it, the Mad Season. Tay’s Homecoming is at the end of the month of September. There’s a dress to buy and accutruments associated.  Money will tight and distributed among the children.

For the second year ina  row, my birthday will be put aside, for the most part. Bobina’s going to come home from work Saturday afternoon, dead tired, put on a  brave face and something “comfortable” and try to make the most of it. I love her for that.

Fall has started even though it’s 95 degrees. The Mad Season of never having a dull moment nor a peaceful money time is here. Time to shut up, grow up, and deal. This is the end of the summer and the end of just getting by. Time to get to work.

I’m rockin multiple prompts. You have my girls at www.writeonedge.com and their “talk about a season or the season” and you have the stars at www.studiothirtyplus.com and their prompt “The End”. Go check out their sites. Great people reside their and for some reason they kinda sorta like me.

Today’s song is from Matchbox Twenty. It doesn’t rock like a Rage song would, but the lyrics are perfect and it’s mostly about dealing poorly with stress, like you robot human hybrid hero does or doesn’t do. Here’s Mad Season.

20 responses to “Mad Season

  1. Holy… another person with an anxiety attack?? I just got done commenting on another blog http://adventuresinclass.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/thoughts-i-had-while-wearing-a-hospital-gown/ about her anxiety attack because I had one and thought I was freaking dying. WHERE WERE ALL YOU PEOPLE BEFORE I THOUGHT I WAS DYING?? Never hear a word about anxiety attacks, and then I have one, and THEN people come out the woodwork with their, “Yeah, couldn’t breath, sucks but what can you do” BS. *pant* *pant*

    Ok. Done. On the upside, the valium prescription is pretty bitchin.

  2. I think it is interesting that you mention the heat. That does seem to amp the whole craziness up several notches. 107 here yesterday. The boys don football pads and uniforms tonight. Yikes!

    Breathe deeply! Rely on one another. Persevere!

  3. it’s an odd thing how two people see the same season so differently, I just posted about how much I love fall for football and change in season, and you are entering the most stressful time of the year. Context is king I guess. One day at a time…. surviving one means getting to try the next one. And that’s a good thing.

  4. First of all, I do love Matchbox 20 (shamelessly.)
    Second, Happy Early Birthday to you and all your girls.
    Finally, although easier said than done, relax. Keep things in perspective. Remember that you don’t have to do it all five minutes ago and what will be, will be. If you reframe a bit, you’re entering a really exciting month. You are celebrating some spectacular lives with loved ones, you are fortunate enough to have a job to go to, your kids are flourishing, healthy and entering a new social phase and yet you still continue to write and spend time with your wife.

    That’s much more Suzy Sunshine than I’m comfortable with, but hell, fake it til you make it. Just remember that the world won’t end if it all doesn’t go as planned. Enjoy the ride–and the Xanax ;)

  5. Happy Crazy Birthday month! My best bud’s husband & two kids are all September birthdays, so I understand how crazy it all is at this time of year.

    Summer will fade into fall, the crazy will peter off a little…Good luck with this mad dash of a transition!

  6. I feel grateful that so far I have limited “madness” this time of year. I know that all too soon it shall descend. How can it not with 2 girls :)

    Good luck muddling through it all. And happy early birthday!

  7. my madness has only taken a slight hiatus. Wait til mid-October when I got Scooby’s bday to deal with then the whole Christmas deal with concerts, recitals, Santa, blah blah blah. You know exactly what I mean!

    Happy early birthday and safe travels!

  8. Gotta say “Mad Season” started playing in my head as soon as I saw your blog title this morning on the WOE link up list. I’ve been looking forward to checking out the post all day, and it didn’t disappoint. What a great way to describe this time of year. I’m not a parent, so I can’t pretend to relate to the “madness” of the next couple of months for you, but I definitely understand the sentiment. Good luck in juggling everything…and happy birthday!

  9. Even in a Mad Season I WILL NOT just let my birthday just slip by without notice. That’s how I roll. I hope your day turns out to be a good one and I hope your season is smooth.

  10. You’re never given more than you can handle.

    Enjoy your day, even if there’s a lot going on, and happy birthday to your girls! The internets will bolster your spirits when things get tough. That’s what we’re here for!

  11. Happy birthday friend! You are juggling so very much- hang in there!

    You wrote from the heart, which I love. Your support system is solid, which will help.

  12. Happy B’Day fellow Virgo! Fall is absolutely nutty for us too. Scouting, soccer, a new school for one kid, my busy season at work… but in the end it all works out. I never remember exactly HOW or WHY it works out but it usually does :-). Hang in there!

Whatdya Got?

