World, Shut Your Mouth

Don’t ever elect me to public office because the impeachment process would start IMMEDIATELY. The United States of America is honoring a man of great ideals, Martin Luther King Jr., by taking the day off. Children are out of school, the banks are closed, my job is shut down, and I’m pretty sure my garbage won’t be picked up until it’s rotting the neighborhood. If I were in charge of the this country, we’d all be working and studying and striving for excellence even harder to show reverence to Dr. King.

Since December 19th my children have been in school a total of 9 days. America, for all her faults, is a country founded on hard work, discipline, and drive. In the past fifty years, or so, we’ve become removed from the idea of sacrifice and determination.

Dr. King believed that education and commitment to principle could overcome racism, bigotry, violence and laziness. He was right. Yet, for some reason, that I can’t understand, we don’t listen to him or anyone else that matters.

My friends at Write On Edge posted this picture and asked me to write something.

The first thing that popped into my head was the song Freebird by Lynyrd Skynyrd. What you’re looking at, is the launch of Space Shuttle STS 96 in May of 1999. On the final day of wake up calls for the crew, NASA played Skynyrd’s epic rock ballad. I thought it was a great choice because, as child, I admired the space program and stayed glued to the television when launches and re-entries occurred. Astronauts and engineers are the ultimate dreamers, making things that fly into the skies. These days, NASA is talked about as a burden and even unnecessary. I assume this is from people who like to take time off from work and school.

One of my daughters talks about being an astronaut. I told her that to train for that, she’d need to go to school a really long time. Her initial reaction was….

“Ugh, I go to school enough. Maybe I’ll be something else.”

This crushed me inside. Fortunately, she came to her senses and said…

“I’ll go to school as long as it takes. I want to be an astronaut.”

 I hope she keeps this attitude. Of course, she’s off today, probably playing video games.

To really recognize Dr. King, and the many others that made this country enviable in so many ways, I propose we start honoring them by working, going to school, and finding ways to be better.

Don’t worry, I have enough skeletons in my blog and my closet to prevent me from ever being elected to any office. All I’m really saying is shut your mouth and get to work; doing whatever it is you do or want to do.

Today’s song is from Julian Cope. It’s more about the maroons some of you watched on the Golden Globes last night. I interpret it in a different way. Here’s World, Shut Your Mouth….