I Will Possess Your Heart

Last time with Helene Troy: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/two/

The street light in front of Mickey’s bar was broken. A pall of darkness greeted Helene and Xander as they walked out to look for a cab. Helene’s drunkenness caused her to stumble over the curb and drop her guitar case. She laughed, shot Xander a mischievous grin and sang out.

“Dark in the city, night is wire!…steam in the subway, earth is afire!”

Her voice, despite being under the influence, was pitch perfect and rich. Xander leaned over and picked up her guitar. Helene grabbed the small end of the case. Shadows moved around their faces. Xander spoke.

“Who doesn’t love a little Duran Duran? Helene, maybe we should go somewhere and get you some coffee. We could talk about music or whatever.”

She rolled her eyes and turned her back to him with the case in her grasp. She moved to within a few inches of his face and ran her her right hand over his chest.

“I don’t drink coffee. There’s an apartment 15 blocks from here where I can drop my guitar and backpack. You want to come with me?”

Helene’s tipsiness made it hard to focus on Xander’s facial expressions. She reached out and touched his right hand and pulled him close to her body. He replied.

“That’s a great idea. Um, let’s run by your place. I can’t wait to see where you dream up your songs.”

The next block had a working street light. Helene looked over and saw Xander’s Death Cab For Cutie t-shirt. She squinted then cringed. Xander caught her look.

“What? Death Cab offends you? They don’t rock hard enough?”

Helene bit her bottom lip and wished she could have thought of a fair response. She failed.

“They really like playing their instruments, don’t they? I mean 8 minute songs about stalking is a little much don’t you think?”

She chuckled as she spoke but as the words carelessly left her mouth she could feel tension form. Xander released her hand. She braced for a pithy reply. He didn’t respond. They walked for a couple of blocks without speaking. They passed in front of  a liquor store and Helene took a couple of steps toward the front window.

“I’m stopping here. You want something?”

Xander slipped his hands into the back pockets of the blue jeans and shrugged his shoulders. His dark hair flopped over the left side of his frowning face. Helene rolled her eyes again.

“What’s your deal, dude? You had balls the other night when you gave me your number after I threatened to kick your ass. That was smooth. Tonight you act like some missionary in town to save my pathetic soul. Fuck that, okay?”

Helene sighed and threw her shoulders around to walk into the store. Xander right hand touched her left arm and his voice cracked.

“Helene, I’m sorry. We’re getting off on the wrong foot here. I think you’re great and unbelievably talented and my God, gorgeous, I’m….”

Helene liked the way he touched her. His hands were warm and his skin glowed in the streetlights. She realized he wasn’t meant to be her distraction. He was better than that. She leaned into his ear and whispered.

“I’ve had a really bad day and I just need to forget it. I shouldn’t have called you.”

Helene walked into the store and bought another bottle of Jack Daniels. She walked out and Xander was waiting on the stoop. They exchanged smiles. He took the guitar case.

“You need someone to be there while you forget. I’ll take the gig. All I ask is dinner later this week, sober, with a rousing argument about the awesomeness of Death Cab For Cutie.”

Helene looked into Xander’s dark eyes and dimpled cheeks. She relaxed her body and took his free hand. They walked another block.

“You’re trying to romance a drunk girl. Consider my mind blown, Xander. Completely blown.”

A yellow cab met them at the next street corner. They waved it off and kept walking to Helene’s apartment.

****blogger’s note****

This is a new story episode of The Ballad of Helene Troy. There’s no prompt, just story. You can find the rest of it, so far, here: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/the-ballad-of-helene-troy/

Today’s song is perfect for this moment between Helene and Xander. The lyrics and the tone are moody and foreboding. Here’s Death Cab For Cutie’s I Will Possess Your Heart/…..