Don’t Change

I don’t know about those of you reading this blog post, but now is the greatest time of my life. I’m not rich. I’m not famous. Most of my free time is spent going to cheerleading or judo events for my kids. The dog’s barking to come inside. One of the kittens has a chronic back problem that causes her to whine in pain. I think she just tipped over the beer I opened. Yet, I’m happier now than I’ve been in my 41 years.

As I try to find my artistic voice in the novel I’ve written and need to be editing and organizing for my writer friends to critique for the inevitable rewrite, something penned or penciled by a dead rock star has said everything I want to tell you in this blog post.

“I’m standing here on the ground
The sky above won’t fall down
See no evil in all direction
Resolution of happiness
Things have been dark
For too long

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me

I found a love I had lost
It was gone for too long
Hear no evil in all directions
Execution of bitterness
Message received loud and clear

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me

I’m standing here on the ground
The sky above won’t fall down
See no evil in all directions
Resolution of happiness
Things have been dark for too long

Don’t change for you
Don’t change a thing for me”

Thirty years ago, Michael Hutchence and his bandmates in the Australian rock band INXS wrote that song about a relationship gone bad. Sometime in the middle of the night in November 1997, Michael Hutchence would be found dead after hanging himself, some say accidently, in a Sydney Ritz Carlton hotel room. He was only 37 years old. Michael was born on this date, January 22nd in 1960. He would’ve been 52.

I was a huge fan of Hutchence. I argued with anyone who’d listen, that he was one of the 5 greatest frontmen in the history of recorded music. He looked like a rock star, lived like a rock star, and enjoyed being a rock star. When I heard of his death I listened to Don’t Change dozens of times in a row. After a while, I realized, although he was only 22 years old when it was released, the song was also about being content with yourself and the people in your life.

Today, I did something that I normally don’t do. I went to a movie, Haywire, (good, not great. Gina Carano’s debut is a good one but the movie is a turn off your brain experience) on a whim. I was good to myself. I was slightly irresponsible (we’re low on money around my house) and I enjoyed every minute.

As I drove home a short time ago from my daughter’s 16th birthday party, Don’t Change came on the radio. I turned it up and sang as loud as my weak pitched, tired voice would allow. I felt content. I had resolution of happiness. I wouldn’t change a thing in my life.

I’m about to hit publish and return to my mistress, the novel. With Bobina and the girls spending the night out, I have a quiet place, no bedtime, and plenty of beer. I need to understand that anything happens with this book and the rest of my life is like the icing on my oldest daughter’s birthday cake.

Here’s INXS and the late great Michael Hutchence. Play it really friggin loud, and find your love that you had lost. Rest in Peace Michael, you are so very missed. Don’t Change….