Animal


The mommy’s crying in the corner of the couch next to her computer. I guess what her and the daddy were talking about is true. You’re not coming back.

It’s warm inside this box. I’m glad they haven’t taken me downstairs in the cold, damp basement. It was neat of you to try to pull me out and play with me the other night. I heard your cries and I wanted to snuggle.

I liked your warmth. It was cold on the floor until you came to sit on me. Sharing your snacks and picking on your little sister were a blast. There’s still some frayed pieces of fur that I haven’t lost. They remind me of the time you thought I was your ball or your food or the daddy’s sock. That was funny when you took it from him and came to hide it inside of me. He was so mad.

The other kitten, your little sister, doesn’t pay much attention to me. Maybe I can scoot myself up high in this box and get the mommy or the daddy to show me off to her.

So long, my friend. I’m miss your black fur and prickly teeth. You were sweet and fun.

RIP Jerri the kitten, March 2011 to January 23, 2012

Write on Edge: RemembeREDDo objects have a memory? Does a rocking chair hold the essence of the snuggles it has witnessed? Does a pottery mug remember the comforting warmth it offered a struggling soul?

The dictionary defines personification as “the attribution of a personal nature or human characteristics to something nonhuman, or the representation of an abstract quality in human form.”

This week, tell a piece of your story from the point of view of an object who bore witness.

Today’s song is kind of weird and I doubt even my own family members will understand the choice. I wanted to go with something that coincided with Jerri the kitten’s short life. Neon Trees’ Animal was one of the biggest pop songs of 2011. It played a couple of times she was in the car going to the vet to be looked over. For me, it’s how I’ll remember her.

24 responses to “Animal

  1. This is a beautiful tribute, Lance. The emotions come through loud and clear. Those first couple of lines are heartbreaking. You summed Jerri up nicely with few words. I love cats, too, and this one is now endeared to me forever.

    RIP Jerri the kitten. :(

  2. Lance, I’m so sorry. Cats have always held a special place in my heart. They just have a special way of making everything alright. This was a great tribute to your kitten. May Jerri Rest in Peace.

  3. Dammit, Lance. This is why I keep putting off watching “Courageous” as your ode to a kitty from a Christmas stocking makes me misty eyed.

    Well done my friend, and sorry to hear about kitty. We have an old friend who is seemingly starting to ready herself to go to The Heavyside Layer too, so your story means a lot.

  4. Awwww… its always so hard to say good-bye to a pet – they bring such light and fun!

    I think that telling the story from the perspective of the Christmas stocking is a wonderful to keep that light and fun into this touching tribute.

  5. :( Breakin’ my heart. I have some painful memories around my last cat passing away. That being said, LOVE the Neon Trees song. I had such a blast when I was out (sometime in the last year, I don’t go “out out” much), and I happened to be in a club where a live, local band was playing and they did a cover of that song, and I just danced, and danced, and danced. I wish I could re-live that moment!!

  6. Oh precious kitty! I like to believe we’ll have easy cloning technology before it’s my dog’s time, because they’re going to have to put me away when he goes.

    I’m so sorry for your loss.

  7. Pingback: 19th Nervous Breakdown « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Whatdya Got?

