Walking With A Ghost


Last time with Helene Troy: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/seether/

Helene ended her cell phone call with the landlord standing outside her favorite Bodega. The landlord dictated terms for keeping the apartment. The two months rent that hadn’t been paid by her roommate Darcy Bridges, plus a third month, all in cash, up front. Also, Helene must sign and honor a one year lease. That meant she would have to come up with $3,300 and pay $1100 a month, by herself, until September of the following year. She currently had $2100 and the promise from Ramona of two months studio work in advance, which was $300 a session, 3 days week. She bit her bottom lip, stared into the window of the Bodega where she’d agreed the week before to adopt the two kittens and cursed.

“Damn you Darcy. It’s like I’m walking around with a fucking ghost.”

Helene smiled as she thought of one of her favorite songs, Walking With A Ghost by Tegan and Sara. She walked into the Bodega. The owner threw his hands up and greeted her warmly. Minutes later, she walked out with a bag of cat supplies and two identical twin female gray and white kittens inside a cardboard carrier.

She put the supplies down on the street corner and waved down a yellow cab. Plopping herself in the back seat, she shouted her apartment address and dialed a number on her phone. Darcy answered.

“Darse, it’s Monday morning. I want your shit out of the apartment by Friday. I’m keeping the place.”

After a few seconds of silence, Helene pulled the phone away from her face to hang up when Darcy yelled.

“I thought you loved me, Leney! I thought you loved me!”

Helene moved the phone back to her left ear and responded in calm, low tone.

“I did Darse. But you’re not the same person I loved. You’re like a ghost of that person. Goodbye, Darcy.”

The cab rolled over a pothole and the cardboard box with the kittens jumped a couple of inches off the seat then settled down. The kittens mewed. With tears in her eyes, Helene sang, with perfect pitch, the opening lines to the song in her head.

“No matter which way you go ,no matter which way you stay,  you’re out of my mind, out of my mind”

She wiped her tears and looked into the small holes of the carrier.

“That’s what your names will be, girls; Tegan and Sara.”

****blogger’s note***

This is a new Helene Troy episode based around this prompt:

Red Writing Hood: Music 

creative writing prompt, music inspired writing, fiction writing prompt, Write on EdgeFor Friday, let your character be inspired by music. It doesn’t have to be a specific song or genre, it doesn’t even have to exist anywhere outside your mind. Show us in 400 words or less how your character reacts to a piece of music. It can advance a story line or provide a character sketch–or both!
 

 You’ve have to be an idiot or maybe a ghost, to not figure out what’s today’s song is going to be. Here’s Tegan and Sara, identical twin sisters, in human form, with Walking With A Ghost.

29 responses to “Walking With A Ghost

  1. I’m surprised that after ignoring Helene’s calls for so long she actually called back. I’d do the same thing if I was in Helene’s position. More great writing, Lance!

  2. I don’t know how, in all the WOE prompts I’ve ever done, I’ve never read any of your stuff? I have seen your links, meant to click, and for whatever excuse, never have. *shame*

    I’ve never tackled fiction before, but you do it so well. Tiny details like the box jumping off the seat a bit make such a big impact.

    Well done.

  3. Strange as this may sound… good use of the kittens.

    Darcy goes out of her life, and two little kittens come into it. Likely, they’ll make her happier. But, oh my, that is a lot of money considering she’ll have to empty her bank account plus some just to pay off a debt. Maybe she needs to find a roommate?

    Anyway, you’ve got me interested….

  4. The song was perfect for this writing featuring Helene. She’s making some difficult, but important decisions. I was pleased she kept her word about the kittens. Hopefully, they’ll help her get through the tough times.

    Someone’s already mentioned the “leap of faith” Helene is making. I admire her for doing this, but also recognize she doesn’t have a lot of choices. It’s always interesting to see how a character gets out of the corner or if they do. I’ve a feeling Helene will find her way.

    You’re writing always makes me “see” the scene. I like that very much:~)

  5. Lance! you are the king of description! I love all the little nuances in this, the layered feel of all the things she’s feeling.
    When she bit her lip, I was right there with her, contemplating her options.

    you don’t need me to tell you that’s your a great writer, but I like Helene a whole lot and even more so now.

  6. I’m glad to see she is breaking free fromDarcy’s poison. Clearly, there are still some emotional ties…I wonder if she will be able to fully break free since Helene seems to have some major issues when it comes to relationships.

    On another note: Yay kittens!!

    • yeah, ther’es some symbolism here…more importantly, Helene’s got to do thungs herself. This is where Ramona’s the antagonist, nto Darcy, in this story.

  7. I’ve been quietly following for a while, enjoying your writing and Helene’s story.
    Darcy had to go. Kittens are perfect. Of course this is said by a crazy cat lady….

  8. Pingback: Cat Power « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Whatdya Got?

