Lost


We’re walking around with tears in our eyes. No one knows when we should hug, eat or just go to the mall.  Our hearts hurt but we know he’s saying hello to heaven.

****blogger’s note****

I’ve tried seven or eight times to write about the loss of my father-in-law. He passed, yesterday, after an eight-year battle with cancer. Its all seemed trite and stupid. Trifecta writing challenge just posted this: write a story entitled ‘Lost’ in exactly 33 words. The word ‘lost’ can only appear in the title, not your 33 words.  http://www.trifectawritingchallenge.com/ so i wrote the first 33 that came to my head. It may not be the story they’re looking for, but the words are the truth.

Goodbye Poppy. You have my word. I’ll take care of all of these women, like you did, so well for so long.

Here’s one of my favorite songs about grief; Temple of the Dog’s Say Hello To Heaven. Just do me a favor and play it loud.

 

61 responses to “Lost

  1. What perfect 33 words. What a perfect prompt. I’m so very sorry to hear about Poppy. I know you’re a man of your word and that promise will be kept to your dying day. Love and prayers with all of you. Rest well, Poppy.

  2. Lance,

    I am so sorry for the pain you all are experiencing with this loss. You are a good man and you have a wonderful family. My thoughts are with all of you.

    ~Kelly

  3. What a beautiful piece. Sorry for your loss. When it lose someone, it is always difficult, but seeing them suffer is horrible. Thinking of you, your wife and family during this sad time.

  4. It’s never easy to know how you should be feeling when you lose someone special. Should you mourn quietly, loudly, deeply…for a long time, a short time.should you feel guilty if you get past your grief before others?

    This piece was I think a perfect embodiment to when we lose a loved one. We definitely feel a bit lost

  5. You know you’re in my thoughts. It’s always so hard for those of us left behind, but take comfort in your memories and the fact that he’s no longer in pain. Your tribute is lovely, my friend.

  6. I really like this entire post. I like that you included a little something afterwards. It makes your words all that much more meaningful. I’m sorry for your loss. My family just experienced the same. I think Trifecta should strongly consider your entry. It was beautiful.

    • thank you….I just wrote regardless of entry consideration.

      My family is a bunch of women. My father-in-law and I were greatly outnumbered. I’ll miss him in so many ways.

      I’m so sorry for your loss. Saying they’re in a better place is trite but true.

  7. I thought it was beautiful before I read the blogger’s note. Now i know why… you shared your heart so well in those few words. I’m so sorry for the great loss of your father-in-law.

  8. Oh, Lance. I am sorry for your loss. It is NEVER easy – no matter how close or far apart our relationships are at the moment – whether it is expected or not – when LOVE leaves, it leaves a hole.

  9. The Trifecta entry is wonderful. It’s well worded and captures your family’s hurt so well. But this: “Goodbye Poppy. You have my word, I’ll take care of all of these women, like you did, so well for so long.” is what brought tears to my eyes. That captures him.

  10. Lance, so sorry for you and your families loss. Beautiful tribute and promise to what sounds like a fantastic father and man.

  11. ugh i hate wordpress! my long heartfelt comment was just deleted! dammit.

    here’s a recap. i LOVE when you are pushed to express by paring it down to what’s essential. this is gorgeous and apt.

    love to you! xoxo

  12. Deana has my sincere condolences. Your promise to take care of her dad’s womenfolk, choked me up. I can’t think of a better man to take on that task.

  13. F’ing perfect, man. So spot on.

    I’m sorry for your loss.

    My Dad died in 09, and it never gets any better, it just gets different.

    There’s no right or wrong way to grieve. Just do what you gotta do.

    And you’ll keep your promise. I have faith in you.

  14. So sorry for your loss . . . my kids have two grandfathers, both of whom are . . . let’s just say substandard. But, I think back to my own grandfather, and my wife’s two grandfathers (one of whom I never had the opportunity to meet) and I think about how wonderful the role of grandfather can be.

    Temple of the Dog makes for great mourning music when played very, very loud.

  15. Your pain and aguish revealed in just 33 words brings tears to my eyes. I have no doubt that you”ll take wonderful care of your girls. Heaven is only as far away as a prayer.

  16. Hugs, hugs, and more hugs. Well, as much as hugs can be given through this medium. It’s times like these when I wish I was actually in the same town at least with some of my bloggy friends. Though I don’t think you’d want the whole world descending on you right now, despite the good intentions. All my best.

Whatdya Got?

