Last Resort


Last time with Violet’s dad in Soul To Body: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/everybodyknows/

 

 

“There’s nothing cute about it,” he said. The register of his voice indicated decision more so than discussion.

She disagreed heartily and privately, staring past his head and out the window behind him.

He watched Mallory cross her long legs then evened his rough tone.

“Please understand, it’s only been three months since my wife died. My teenage daughter shouldn’t read about us on the internet.”

 

****blogger’s note****

This is a 66 word new story episode for Soul To Body. You can find the rest of the story, so far, here: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/soul-to-body/ This is in response to Trifecta Writing’s challenge:  For your prompt this week, we are giving you the first 33 words of a story. You need to complete it with 33 of your own words. “There’s nothing cute about it,” he said. The register of his voice indicated decision more so than discussion. She disagreed heartily and privately, staring past his head and out the window behind him.

Today’s song reflects the protagonist’s mindset. He’s lonely. A pretty girl is up in his business. He’s thinking with the wrong area of his body. One of the better, rocking, recent songs songs about sexual frustration is PaPA Roach’s Last Resort. I took out the f bombs so you and the children can listen together. Have fun

27 responses to “Last Resort

  1. Wow is right. We shouldn’t have to read about any of us on the internet. I can envision him also racking his hand through his hair. Great story.

    • ha! I know. I don’t believe in censorship but as a dad I know any song that drops the f bomb 6 times is going to cause trouble.

      thanks for liking only 33 words/

      • I know. I’m the only parent on earth who invites her kids to singalong to Ceelow (or however that name is spelled) only to be told “Mom those are BAD BAD WORDS.”

  2. Pingback: Listen Like Thieves « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

  3. Ya. I’m pretty careful about what I write about in the blogosphere because I’m not sure my peeps want anyone reading about them that way. Fiction is good, amIright?

  4. easy enough to figure I suppose, but the lady is rubbing me the wrong way as well….the song…well, hey…Happy Monday! I’ve a fierce new vibe about me now :)

  5. Thanks so much for linking up to Trifextra. Remember, this weekend’s entries are being judged by the Trifecta community, so I hope you were able to cast your votes. Winners will be announced with the Monday post. Hope to see you back then.

  6. I agree with Carrie, it’s the best beginning. The best place to start.

    and I love how you say so much with so little, the words just fell into place.

Whatdya Got?

