100 Word Song – Breaking The Girl


This was my favorite week of 100 word song. The song was great, picked by Tasha, but more so because of how you all attacked the interpretations and welcomed in new people. This is how web communities grow and get better. Please pat all of yourselves on your backs and drink something celebratory. Now, the challenge is to be even better this week.

Two logistical changes to 100 word song. I will start posting each Tuesday’s installment with 100 Word Song hyphen whatever song is chosen. I’ve been told by a few of you it’s easier to search. Also, I’ll make a blog pages with the other episodes similar to how I have my fiction pieces at the header of the blog. This should provide reference and advertisement for new people.

Everyone had a good entry this week. One that I loved and for some reason that I can’t explain, hit me straight on was from Kim over at Let Me Start By Saying  http://letmestartbysayingblog.com/2012/03/24/knowing-her-place/ There was a powerful presence to hers and it seemed so positive. You have to read it to appreciate. So, I asked Kim to pick this week’s song. The tune she threw down was great because it fits both of my fiction serials and it’s one of maybe four Red Hot Chili Peppers songs that I like. Here’s my 100 for Breaking The Girl.

Last time on Soul To Body: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/listen-like-thieves/

A wave of shame met him as he walked through his front door. His brief furlough of naughtiness was now imprisoned by his daughter’s streaming tears. Violet’s blue eyes were flooded. Her cheeks were flushed. She sniffled and stuttered.

“Well? Are you dating her, dad?”

He dropped his shoulders and measured his answer.

“No. Look, honey. I don’t expect you to……”

Violet slapped the armrest of their living room couch. A small box of Kleenex fell to the floor.

“Don’t talk to me like a little baby! Mom is still in this house!”

Her unleashed hurt shot through his chest.

My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Now. it’s your turn. Here The Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Breaking The Girl. Tell a friend or fifty.

33 responses to “100 Word Song – Breaking The Girl

  1. Yeesh! Great one, Lance! I’m going to have to go back and catch up on Soul To Body.

    I also think I may have to revive Reggie and Gris for this 100 Word Song. They’ll be perfect for it.

  2. “Mom is still in this house.” I haven’t ever been privy to that kind of loss. It definitely hurts just to imagine, especially the way you’ve portrayed it (that’s a good thing)… And I linked up! You’ve got my first entry, yay!

  3. Pingback: Breaking the Girl | I Can't Brain Today; I Have the Dumb.

  4. the small box of Kleenex is so telling, the evidence of enough tears to wipe instead of hiding them behind red rimmed eyes.

    WOW.

    it was a good addition and like we talked about yesterday..he is caught between being a man and a dad. Between two visceral emotions…protection and attraction.

  5. Pingback: 100 Word Song: Broken | Views From Nature

  6. Pingback: Briefly… | as long as i'm singing

  7. I had to go back and re-read some of the earlier bits because I had this weird impression that Violet was happy her dad was going to be dating Mallory. That whole scene with the BLT’s…but maybe it’s more she thought Mallory could be a cool girl for HER to hang with? Otherwise, what’s the deal with friending her on Facebook after such a brief acquaintance?

    Love Vi’s reaction. So true to the whole “I don’t want anyone replacing my mom” teenager thing. ESPECIALLY SINCE IT’S ONLY BEEN A FEW MONTHS!!

    Gah, daddy is pissing me off ;)

  8. Pingback: Proud Daddy Moments: Lance is Taking on the Corner | The Kir Corner

  9. Violet sees the devil within. I’m very interested in how she will show her dad, or if he will ever really listen.

    I had the same initial reaction as Carrie. With their first encountered, it seemed that Violet liked Mallory. Was that before she saw how the other woman really was?

  10. Pingback: Breaking the Girl | Let Me Start By Saying…

  11. i finally wrote! thanks for your patience, weird week it turned out to be.
    this little snippet of the story…. oh, father, please don’t say “i don’t expect you to…” SIGH.

Whatdya Got?

