You Get What You Give


A pathetic stench wafted over the gas station lot. I finished pumping then walked through a labyrinth of vacant eyes. The soulless figures emerging from the store were zombies. Each held lottery tickets.

****blogger’s note****

We take a break from Helene, Violet’s dad and 100 word song to bring you a real life horror story. I drove my sweet teenage daughter (newly named to her high school varsity cheerleading team) to her other family in almost South Carolina. I stopped twice for gas and drinks. I watched madness in the form of Mega Millions lottery players swarming the parking lots and gas station stores. It’s sad and scary. I’ve never played the lottery. God bless those who do. This is a real life horror story that should terrify you, if you still have your soul. It’s also in response to my buddies at Trifecta Writing – For this weekend’s challenge, we’re using an idea from one of our regular contributors, MOV from Word Cut. She emailed us with the following suggestion:

“Write a horror story in 33 words, without the words blood, scream, died, death, knife, gun, or kill. Good luck.”

Today’s song is from the sardonic, ironic, and brilliant deep mind of New Radicals Greg Alexander. Here’s You Get What You Give. Think about it.

 

58 responses to “You Get What You Give

  1. ha! Liked your post on facebook as well. Currency in any form is evil…look at what the mere thought of it does to most people…Food, Shelter, Clothing, and a pen (okay…my massive music collection and something to play it on) = happy :)

  2. Bravo. Hahaha I love me a little comedic horror. Is it wrong that Pink Floyd’s video comes to mind with those soulless children in a line?

  3. Very nice! Tom told me he heard some news story saying that if someone bought 178 million tickets, they could win it for sure, but it would take forever to fill out the little number forms. That would be some really impressive asshole billionaire shenanigans.

  4. Here in WY we don’t have lottery, so being in the NE corner, our residents flee for the borders, SD and MT to purchase tickets and participate in the insanity. People do go all zombie when it comes to money, even after they win :/

  5. Usually we don’t know much about the lotteries outside of the provinces, but this is the third I’ve heard about this one, which makes it super scary.

    Well done and too true, Lance.

  6. Love it!

    Did any of the zombies purchase single serving size Twinkies as well, or were they only down for lottery tickets and braiiiiiiiins?

    Also, did you get my DropBox invite?

  7. Whenever the jackpot reaches unfathomable proportions, I’m brought back to 1984, where members of the Proles know the numbers of every lottery ever held. And I wonder about those who play the lottery religiously, and if they’re memorizing the numbers, trying to find the pattern….it scares the hell out of me.

    And I’m someone who enjoys zombie stories.

    • it’s very scary. I saw some people at two different gas stations that were using money they didn’t have to buy dozens of tickets. who doesnt like zombies?

  8. Thanks so much for linking up with Trifecta this week. Hope to see you back on Monday (10 am Eastern) for the new prompt and some exciting news about the changes Trifecta is making to spread the word about our writing community.

  9. Ha! I saw the same folks. My question is: while I know what *I* would do with that kind of money, what on earth would a *zombie* do with hundreds of millions of dollars? He’s still dead. Plastic surgery, maybe? Embalming? I can’t quite decide. Nicely done, Lance – a vivid picture, and pointed commentary on current society.

  10. coming here after the lottery, I have to concur, it was a scary couple of days for sure and the lifeless eyes were the most vivid image. We were all daydreaming weren’t we, but in the most lifeless ways.

  11. Lance, watching folks pour their last quarters into the hands of bodega clerks to enter a lottery that will break their hearts is indeed madness. Congrats to you for your nod at Trifecta, where I posted this comment:

    Lance’s poem on the “zombiefication” of America led me to include a note on a poem this week. It was my 420th post, so of course, it was “420,” code name for pot. I mentioned in the process notes that, if we now have “Smart Phones” that can help us text while walking in the street and get hit by a car, why on earth isn’t marijuana legalized? At least we’d stay home and eat cookies! Good on you, Lance. Amy

  12. I loved the story and description, especially the gas station setting. I also love the song and I have a whole new take on it now thanks to the gas station zombies.

  13. Oh you and your zombies! :-) But you’re right. They’re either zombies, or sheep. Or perhaps ZOMBIE SHEEP!!!

    Incidentally, am I the only one who hears a little ELO in this song???

    P.S.: How the hell did I get this behind in commenting?? Sheesh.

Whatdya Got?

