100 Word Song – Within Me


Nearly 20 entries for The Beatles Revolution including a few new people. Leeroy is impressed with your spirit and talent. There’s always a let down after a revolution. That euphoric feeling as change sweeps through means that you’re emotionally spent and destined for a moment of darkness. So today’s 100 words is perfect. It’s World Goth Day.

Frelle has stepped up to provide this week’s song pick. I don’t even think she saw the calendar. But her Liam and Caera story is full of angst and dark emotional places to go. I love it. Here’s her 100 from las week:   http://mademorebeautiful.com/2012/05/21/how-much-longer/ She even used Evanescence in her post. This girl knows how to theme. Her choice is Within Me by Lacuna Coil, an Italian goth rock band with two lead singers. Plenty of inspiration there.

I went back into my archives of Millicent, the Cinnamon Girl serial poisoner for my 100. This little scene didn’t make the cut when I edited my Cinnamon Girl short story. https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/cinnamon-girl/ This happens before her perp walk when she goes to jail for three murders.

Millicent swept the tiny brush through her black eyelashes one more time before getting dressed. She sat naked, with perfect posture and and frowned at her reflection.

“Dad was right. This world doesn’t understand genius. “

She studied the two off-white capsules displayed several feet away.

“I should take them. That’s better than going to jail.”

Millicent stood, regained her pride, and walked to the bed that displayed her black bra, panties, and dress. As she put them on, the frantic murmurs of her lawyer and bodyguard made her smile.

“I’m not taking those pills. This dark, unforgiving world needs me.”

As always, anything you need to know about 100 word song is located here: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/100-word-song/ You have until next Tuesday, May 29th, at 7pm to write your 100 word song interpretation. Get your Goth on today and stare into the abyss that is the darkness. Here’s Lacuna Coil’s Within Me.

22 responses to “100 Word Song – Within Me

  1. Eden said it well, “defiant strength” is a great way to describe Millicent. She’s more than strong though, if I were to pick an astrological sign for her, I would pick Taurus. They do make the best criminals you know ;-)

  2. yes, I’m with Eden, this 100 words is all you really need to know about Millicent, and while she has dark places, I really love her for all the things she’s NOT.

  3. You KNOW this is new to me and now you’ll need to let me know where I can see this edited version…link please…because this supposed “cut” has got me hooked…I will patiently await your response while I get to my hundred words…sorry I’m late!

  4. Pingback: 100 Word Song: Within Me, Without You. | The Kir Corner

  5. Pingback: #100WordSong: Choices from Within | Views From Nature

  6. Pingback: Purposefully Aimless (for 100 Word Song) « olddognewtits

  7. Pingback: Jenny Was A Friend « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Whatdya Got?

