Blood and Sand


The bustle of the Atlanta airport provided cover as Millicent disposed of gloves and syringes she used earlier. Flying three times a month for work, she’d noticed that the trash cans near curb side check in were emptied most often. Millicent never broke stride as she tossed the evidence and removed her black designer Costa Del Mar sunglasses with the same hand, entering the automatic doors. Dressed in a black Armani pants suit with matching Jimmy Choo three-inch leather heels, Millicent turned the heads of the male ticket clerk and the female security guard as she arrived at the TSA line. She pulled her phone from her Prada, removed silver hoop earrings and caught the smile of a tall, attractive, middle-aged man with the hair the color of Atlantic Ocean sand in the other line, fifteen-feet away. Her call went to voicemail.

“Dad, it’s me, again. Flying to New York for my conference and my other meeting. I may stay a few extra days. I heard from your, um, business associate. I’m worried about you but, I’m going to do it, for you. Call me.”

A short, portly male TSA agent, leaned into the taller Millicent.

“Ma’am, no cell phones til ya you get to the terminal.”

She rolled her eyes, looked past him and saw the sandy-haired man, still smiling. He was broad-shouldered, confident, and well-groomed wearing an expensive gray suit. Millicent pursed her lips and shot a playful raised right eye-brow, then smiled. They flirted more during the twenty-minute security check. Not once did she worry about what was in her luggage or carry-on bags.

Millicent lost track of her paramour. She hummed a Stone Temple Pilots Song as she reached a bar. The female bartender was young, no more than twenty-three. Her gold name-tag on her white dress-shirt read Holly. Millicent sighed at the thought of Holly not knowing how to make her favorite drink. Millicent scanned the bar’s shelves for scotch, vermouth and cherries. She assumed there was orange juice. She picked up a cocktail napkin and pointed at the barkeep’s ink pen. Holly handed it over. Millicent wrote.

“I would like a Blood and Sand. Here’s what you’ll need. Don’t worry about the maraschino cherry garnish. All I have is a twenty. It’s yours, I swear.”

Holly mouthed “okay” and walked away, intimidated. Millicent felt a large hand on her right shoulder. The sandy-haired man whispered in her ear.

“Wow, I haven’t seen a woman as well put together getting on an airplane in a long time. You must be in fashion or design or shopping or something like that.”

Millicent ran her tongue along the inside of her teeth.

“No, chemistry, among other things.”

****blogger’s note*****

This is a stand alone piece, maybe, of Millicent Stingely, my “Cinnamon Girl” serial killer  https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/cinnamon-girl/ Consider it a prequel to the summer blog series I’m writing with Tara https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/25/hustle-and-cuss/ It’s prompted by Write On Edge’s “sand” challenge.  http://writeonedge.com/2012/06/red-writing-hood-link-up-sand/  This would fall after she kills her ex-boyfriend and his neighbor and before she meets Pauley. Millicent’s favorite band is Stone Temple Pilots. Both of us were listening to this song while I was writing. Here’s STP out Aerosmithing Aerosmith with Huckleberry Crumble.

17 responses to “Blood and Sand

  1. I’ ve never done to u before because your words are always just perfect, but for some reason at the end instead her saying ..”and other things”. I hear her…clear as day saying “among other things”. It just sounds more mysterious.

    Other than that..this is so wickedly fun and good..I know she’s a killer and probably an icy bitch, but I like her. I love her style, I love her way of walking and talking..she’s powerful and she knows it…that’s sexy and dangerous to me. The good girl in me likes her “bad girl”.

    • to honor your loyalty and kind words, I agreed and made the edit. it does sound better.

      thank you. dangerous has its attraction…like Helene

    • ha! i like “whistles”. I’m glad you picked up on the genders. I hate stereotypes. they bore me. yeah, you’ll hear from him again, if Tara agrees with me…maybe…thanks

  2. I like that she is cold and powerful but not overtly rude. Instead of belittling the bartender, she simply gets what she wants without making a fuss. And I love the closing line. But have to disagree with the cherry garnish. I love the cherry garnish :)

  3. I like it. The sandy-haired man’s line was so bad, I already don’t mind that Millicent will probably kill him. Not that men with bad pick-up lines deserve to be murdered, but this is fiction. Anything goes.

  4. Millicent is always good for a Funtime… Well maybe not for the other person ;)

    My only critique is the laundry list of designers that make up her outfit. I think there might be a better way of doing it…even removing the item itself and just saying ” she pulled her phone from her Prada” anyone who knows will understand its a handbag, suit, sunglasses, shoe, etc etc.

  5. Nice wicked fun! I love how matter of fact she is about it all. I’m interested to know about the luggage. It seems to be an important detail here, the kind you want to remember for later when it comes up.

    • the story timeline is after she kills her ex-boyfriend and his neighbor and before she meets Pauley. the links can guide you thru all that mess.

      thanks for reading. i like this story. Millcent is fun to write

  6. Pingback: Sweet Dreams « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

  7. Pingback: The new kid | Thin spiral notebook

Whatdya Got?

