100 Word Song – Leave Your Light On


Happy Birthday America. This July 4th edition of 100 word song will be a little subdued. I’m running a 10K, the annual Peachtree Road Race, tomorrow so I’m already exhausted and going to bed early. Helene Troy is written, chaptered, and now comes some more editing. I hope to announce her being available to everyone, very soon. I got great news and feedback today. Also, Andy Griffith died today. He was a country and folk musician and singer in the 1940s and 1950s as well as a brilliant storyteller. I think he’d appreciate today’s choice. I went back to our buddy Marian. Her 100 was brilliant and I knew she was itching to drop some Americana on us http://www.runawaysentence.com/2012/07/cloud-hotel.html She chose Tim Eriksen’s Leave The Light On. Eriksen is from the band Cordelia’s Dad and also lives in Marian and Cameron’s backyard. Cordelia’s Dad handled the excellent soundtrack to the very good Nicole Kidman movie, Cold Mountain, about 9 years ago. This song is wide open to interpretation and the somber mood is very relatable to me, currently. I’m expecting more awesome from each of you. Thanks to Raquel aka @Ms_Baldman for the Ani Di Franco last week.

For my 100, we go back to Jake and his daughter Violet from Soul To Body. I’m dropping three prompts here, 100 word song, “Fireworks” from Trifecta and “murmur” from my friend Velvet at velvetverbosity.com

Last time: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/100-word-song-cloud-blood/

Jake swore he heard Camille murmur over the flat line noise of the machine.

“Mr. Hanna, she’s gone. We’ll leave you and your daughter with her for a few minutes.”

His wife’s hand fell away. Jake tried to yell “no” but was unable. Violet’s cry became hysterical and she threw herself onto her father .

“Vi, she said something. Did you hear it?”

Violet looked up, her teenaged face a fireworks display of tears, smudged eyeliner, and strands of yellow hair in front of her eyes.

“Yeah, dad, She said goodbye.”

Jake woke from his hospital bed, haunted by the memory.

My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog
 
Everything you need to know about 100 word song is located here: https://lancemyblogcanbeatupyourblog.wordpress.com/100-word-song/
 
 
Here’s Tim Eriksen’s Leave Your Light On
 
 

Please come back next Tuesday at 7 or 8 pm (Leeroy is being very erratic lately. I blame the heat) and a new 100 word song. Let’s try to have twenty entries this week. Tell your friends, the ones who can write real good.
 
 

28 responses to “100 Word Song – Leave Your Light On

  1. Pingback: The Preacher’s Boy, Part One | Cameron D. Garriepy

  2. This is a marvelous little scene. I’m so glad he wakes up from his accident. I hope he wakes up from his stupidity soon too :-).

    Also, I love discovering music that’s new to me since you started the 100 Word Song. These lyrics are gorgeous.

  3. Oh. When you put me in the room with them, when I can see Vi’s face, feel her body hit mine with her grief, well that’s excellent writing. This one just tore me apart, losing someone for any reason, hurts like nothing else.

  4. Thanks for linking up to Trifecta this week, Lance. Especially with everything you’ve got going on. Your Facebook page tells us that you survived the race, so congratulations there. Also, we are waiting with bated breath for your good news. Spill it! Great write here. I was going to write the exact same thing Karen said. One of the better uses of the word I’ve read this week.

  5. Pingback: Purplemoose Gazette » Leave the Lights On

  6. Pingback: Where Darkness Lies | Views From Nature

  7. Pingback: 100 Word Song – #1 Crush « My Blog Can Beat Up Your Blog

Whatdya Got?

